How to defrost a fridge.

This may seem like the most random post ever, but I can tell you, when I was standing in front of my open fridge last year, staring at the mammoth iceberg that has swallowed half of my jam jar and was slowly creeping towards the front to wrap it’s icy jaws around my housemate’s cheese, all I wanted, was a simple bit of advice that would help me sort that mess. We played it by ear. It worked. This is what we did.

  1. Remove everything from your fridge. If possible, do this on a really cold day so the food won’t spoil. If it’s summer, you may have to consume it, or put it in the freezer.
  2. Turn the fridge OFF.
  3. Place about 5 towels around the bottom of the freezer and underneath it too. Have 10 more on hand for when you need to replace them.
  4. Leave the freezer for a day or two. It is extremely slow and annoying. Change towels over when the old ones get soaking wet.
  5. Once the ice has melted, switch the plug on (but make sure it’s nowhere near water), fill your fridge again, and cross your fingers.

Good luck, and I’m sorry you have to do this. It sucks.

One thought on “How to defrost a fridge.

Leave a Reply

