A Lentil Bit Wiser

I was so excited to be back in the Well-being Café kitchen today (after being on washing up duty for two weeks!)

We cooked something today that I thought I’d share. The dish is an Indian staple food, called dahl, and this is how I make it. Prepare yourselves for one of the shortest recipe you’ll ever read.

The main ingredient is yellow split peas/lentils (please read the cooking instructions and pick the ones that don’t need soaking over night. Some varieties can make you really ill if you cook them straight away.) Cover them in water plus a few centimetres extra, and cook until soft.

Drain them, add in a tablespoon of ghee (purified butter) or normal butter, and mix in.

Now for the spicing. I like to taste as I go, so use the quantities that suit you. My chosen additions are:

  • Garam mandala
  • Ground coriander
  • Ground cumin
  • Crushed garlic
  • Crushed ginger
  • Madras curry powder (I really don’t think this is authentic, but I think it adds depth).
  • Black pepper
  • Salt

Finally, plonk a generous handful of fresh coriander on top and serve with rice.

Leave a Reply

